VGMaps

General Boards => Mapping Tips/Guides => Topic started by: Maxim on July 13, 2007, 08:11:23 AM



Title: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on July 13, 2007, 08:11:23 AM
I'm messing with the source to Gens KMod now. With a huge proviso that I can't guarantee to achieve anything, and I may not have much time to spend on it, what mapping features can you think of that I could add to it? On my list there is:



- better background colour when layers are disabled

- a better keyboard shortcut for screenshots, like PrintScreen perhaps


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on July 13, 2007, 06:40:32 PM
Personally, only the first two would be of real use to me. Regarding the background color, it should either be an RGB value chosen by the user, or else a color whose RGB value could never be produced by the Genesis color palette, both in 16 and 32 bits color mode.



If you can do this, I'll have to think of some kind of prize to send you.



*searches piles of unsorted stuff*



...well, I have the first 3 or 4 volumes of the old Evangelion DVD edition, the one with shitty sound and image. It wouldn't be much, but nobody's willing to pay me more than 12$ for the lot (brand new too) so I say screw that. How's that for motivation ;) ?



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



B*tch, meet reality. Reality, meet b*tch. - Me


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: DarkWolf on July 14, 2007, 04:29:25 AM
The only thing I was going to do was change the color when you disabled a palette to something like 0xFF00FF, or something close to that.  So if you end up doing that then I won't have any need to swim through the code.



The other alternative is to dump an indexed image like Genecyst does, but I think Gens mostly deals with RGB colors, so that may be a harder route.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on July 14, 2007, 06:57:01 AM
It works internally with a 256-colour palette, so an indexed dumper might be possible, but it'd die when you came to any game that changes the palette mid-frame.



I'm hoping to make the colour configurable, else something fixed that's impossible to get with the MD palette. It'll be a hack though, and probably a speed hit.



The palette disabling thing might be a way to go too. Hopefully I'll get time to mess with it today or tomorrow. Another option that might be good would be to allow you to edit the palette in a "forceful" way that would override any later updates. It might also solve the black-on-black problem.



I might get technical on this later if I'm in need of some ideas on how to approach it.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on July 14, 2007, 02:15:36 PM
Hooray!



http://www.smspower.org/maxim/forumstuff/gens_kmod_maxim_001.zip



- Magic Pink background option when layer B disabled



And a few little things I fixed along the way:

- Auto screenshots no longer get slower as the number increases

- Nicer window title text

- Screenshot limit increased

- Screenshot, etc dump filename selection no longer screwed up by dots in the filename



http://www.smspower.org/maxim/forumstuff/gens_kmod_maxim_001.zip



I'll release source soonish.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: DarkWolf on July 14, 2007, 03:00:47 PM
I will use this on my next Genesis project.  I already started ToeJam & Earl with Genecyst and the two emulators interpret the colors a little differently.



Hey Terra, get back to work on Sonic CD, my special stage maps are lonely.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on July 14, 2007, 03:24:05 PM
I won't have time to try it until tomorrow, but if this works as well for Sonic CD, I'll be resuming work on it as soon as I'm finished with my present project (Gradius: The Interstellar Assault), which  means probably by the end of the weekend. I can't wait :) !



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



B*tch, meet reality. Reality, meet b*tch. - Me


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on July 14, 2007, 07:29:45 PM
IT'S FREAKING WORKING!!! WOOHOO! LONG LIVE MAXIM!



*ahem*



With a good ISO, all the stages work perfectly and it looks like I can finally continue mapping Sonic CD! By the way Maxim, if you're interested, I wasn't joking about those DVDs you know. It's not worth much, but I'd prefer to give them to someone rather than to see them wasting space on my shelves :)



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



B*tch, meet reality. Reality, meet b*tch. - Me


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on July 15, 2007, 02:28:15 AM
I have no idea what they are, and I don't have a DVD player (apart from the one in the computer)... <wikipedia> Aha, anime... not my thing, sadly.



Anyway, the exe is small because I tend to UPX compress programs that look scarily big, even though it's kind of pointless.



Regarding colour differences between emulators: it might be something I can mod. Gens is producing its 24bpp screenshots by left-shifting the internal 15- or 16-bit image, which means for example that a full-on 5-bit red value becomes an 8-bit %11111000 = 0xf8, when you might hope for 0xff. It would be relatively easy to modify it to do that, but it would make it incompatible with any older images you have.



Using PSP7's "Curves" dialog, I mapped input red and blue 0..248 to 0..255, and green 0..252 to 0..255, which gives the result I would expect. Does that match what you'd want?



Before:

User posted image

After:

User posted image



Does the second match what Genecyst produces? Should I make Gens only produce that? Maybe I can make it optional...


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: DarkWolf on July 15, 2007, 06:37:28 AM
I can get you a PCX shot from Genecyst, but don't worry about coding something just for me.  Only if you want to do it.  I've got an old Win98 machine next to my modern one and they are on a KVM switch, so it's no problem for me to use Genecyst. Gens will just be a little easier in the future.  Since I can run it on the same machine and don't have to deal with PCX.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on July 15, 2007, 08:25:38 AM
Well, I added it as an option.



http://www.smspower.org/maxim/forumstuff/gens_kmod_maxim_002.zip



If you enable colour masking with layer B on, you get this secret message in Sonic 1. I wonder if the Sonic fanboys know about it?



User posted image


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on July 26, 2007, 03:59:15 AM
So it turns out the secret credits screen can be shown, in the original Japanese release (the one with the double-spike-death bug), with a certain keypress (CCCCCCUDLR, wait for demo, A+B+C+D+Start, apparently). Never mind.



Anywho, I had a stab at mapping a stage from Sonic 1 using my autostitcher a few days ago. It worked fairly well but the palette rotation for waterfalls confused it (since when that's all you can see, it looks like scrolling). So, my solution is to try to modify Gens again with a checkbox that will, when checked, disable all palette changes (ie. maintain the current palette and ignore updates). I imagine this will be useful for a lot of other games too, but if you reply here with encouragement it'll increase the probability that I'll actually persevere with it.



Technical note: the palette (CRAM) can be updated in four or five different ways on the Mega Drive, and unfortunately some of those ways are things like DMA which will be a bitch to filter (and also probably slow things down a bit). My first approach was to neuter the code that updates the internal 16-bit palette lookup table based on the current CRAM contents, but it never quite worked right and it's hell to debug because it's in assembler. I may persevere with this a bit. My next approach will probably be to take a palette snapshot and force-apply it at the start of every rendered line, but that adds up to 3.5MB/s of writing...


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on July 26, 2007, 05:14:58 AM
Oh, that would be nice! It's been a while since I've hit a stage with a changing palette, but they slow my work considerably since I pretty much have to adjust all the changing colors by hand before pasting every screenshot.



Looks like you just created more work for yourself :D !



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



B*tch, meet reality. Reality, meet b*tch. - Me


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: DarkWolf on July 26, 2007, 11:46:28 AM
I just open the VDP Debug Window and pause the emulation when the colors cycle to the correct position.  The real challenge is games that don't use a palette cycle for animated water, etc.



How about a cheat finder Maxim?


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on July 26, 2007, 03:31:10 PM
That's hard work, and Kega works fine for that already. It seems you have to tweak its codes a bit when transferring to Gens, though; I'm not sure who's to blame.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on August 02, 2007, 08:59:23 PM
Hey Maxim, do you think there could be an easy way to change the magic pink background color to something else, as in could it be changed by the user? Because in one level of Sonic CD, there is a  color that keeps cycling between three values, two which are used elsewhere on the level, and the third which looks best but has exactly the same RGB value as your pink, so it disappears when I remove it...



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



B*tch, meet reality. Reality, meet b*tch. - Me


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on August 03, 2007, 03:07:36 AM
"Magic pink" is normally used in these things because nobody in their right mind would use it in their graphics :) I can try, when I get time - I've literally not had a spare minute in the last few weeks - but until then, try replacing the instances of 1F F8 (that's binary 01111100000011111 for 5-6-5 magic pink, by the way) in the .exe until you find the one that changes it.



I'm sure there's a unique fixed colour I could use that's impossible to be produced by a game, but I'd need to figure out the shadow/highlight operations to understand it. With the 32X added on it gets even harder.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on August 03, 2007, 05:09:52 AM
Sure. I hate asking people to do work just for my benefit, so knowing how to change it myself is more than enough :)



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



B*tch, meet reality. Reality, meet b*tch. - Me


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on August 05, 2007, 11:18:15 PM
Configurable colour key version

The readme explains how to make a decimal representation of a 565 or 555 colour, and it defaults to a colour no game can ever use.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on August 06, 2007, 09:39:45 AM
Thanks Maxim! I hadn't counted on you actually doing it since I figured you had better things to spend you time on. I'll be testing it tonight on that problematic Sonic CD map I was working on.



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



B*tch, meet reality. Reality, meet b*tch. - Me


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on August 06, 2007, 10:05:58 AM
Well, other things - disabling palette fades, and also trying to disable raster effects - weren't going too well so I knocked out a relatively easy one. Again, it'll be making Gens a bit slower than it was before (memory copy instead of hard-wired constant) but it's hardly noticeable (for me, at least).



It might also have a bugfix for the palette disabling from KMod which I seemed to have broken at some point.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on December 22, 2007, 04:37:03 PM
I implemented a new option for the "full-range screenshots". It's to do with how you may the 5-or-6-bit-per-channel to 8. My code was using a slow(ish) integer multiply/divide, like



value = value * 255 / 248



where value is in the range 0..248 and we want it in the range 0..255. But there's another school of thought for these things that says you should instead do the fast bitwise operation



value = value | value >> 3



so we fill in the 3 extension padding bits with the 3 high bits of the same number. The effect is much the same but will differ by (I think) at most 1 from the previous algorithm. This might bother you. Hopefully this will help me match so other emulators' output.



Screenshots:



User posted image - Old Gens

User posted image - Full range - old way

User posted image - Full range - new way



Download


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on February 17, 2008, 02:48:52 PM
By the way Maxim, I never got to try your latest version of Gens KMod until now since I've started mapping Sonic CD again. Being able to change the background color is really saving the whole thing for me :)



I'm not going to use the new color algorithms for now because doing so while in the middle of a project would mean that all the separate sprites and tiles I've saved wouldn't match anymore, but I'll certainly try if I ever try another Genesis game again.



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



Current projects: Mega Man V (GB), Mega Man Zero (GBA), Battletoads (NES), Sonic CD (Sega CD)


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on February 28, 2008, 03:25:41 AM
There's a bug in my "new way" code that is quite obvious if you look at the above examples on a better monitor than the one I use at home, so don't use that option. The "old way" is unaffected. I'll post a fix when I get time. When it's done right (shifts are not 3 bits, they are 5) the results do in fact differ by at most 1 bit per channel from the "old way" and are probably more accurate overall.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: ReyVGM on March 02, 2008, 12:14:21 AM
Hey Maxim, I don't know how good are your skills when it comes to modifying Gens, but is it possible to allow us to change the screenshot key to another one? Or you could you let the user change ALL the emulator keys to wherever they want?


I find the pause key to be very inconveniently placed (ESC), not to mention having to hold SHIFT to take a screenshot is annoying too.


The earlier Gens had the screenshot key mapped just to Backspace. I don't know why the author changed it to holding shift first.


In addition, could you allow us to map the emulator keys to a joystick too?


Having the option of setting the emulator pause on a joystick button would be very much appreciated :)





You are my last hope for these features, because all the other authors from all the Gens versions are either gone or don't care about requests.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Special T on March 02, 2008, 05:32:57 AM
Why not try Xpadder I have been using it for a while and it works great for me, you can map almost any key to a joypad.



http://xpadder.com/


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: ReyVGM on March 02, 2008, 09:09:05 AM
Yeah I have a keyboard to joystick emulator, but it's better if the emulator itself offers such features ;)


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on March 02, 2008, 01:42:52 PM
Email me (maxim at smspower) on a semi-regular basis to maximise your chances of getting anything done, but realise I have a lot of items on my stuff-to-do backlog.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: ReyVGM on March 02, 2008, 06:26:05 PM
Haha, ok. I will email you my post so you can see it each time you log in your email and feel bad if you haven't done anything :P


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on April 02, 2008, 09:45:43 PM
Hey Maxim. I certainly don't want to add too much on your plate , but I figured I might as well ask anyway since your coding skills are really impressive and useful.



Do you think it might be possible in any way to prevent some graphical effects from taking place? You've talked about stopping palette changes, but I'm actually thinking about VDP functions, such as  Raster Effect, Shadow/Hightlight,  Pixel/Pixel H Scrolling (where scrolling values are assigned to individual scanlines), Tile/Tile H Scrolling (same thing but with tiles instead of single lines, etc.



I know that would probably require a lot of time and using those might break many, *many* games, so I'm not holding my breath. But in the unlikely event where you felt like doing something like that, I would be very, *very* happy as it would facilitate mapping a great deal. But know that I'm   really grateful for what you've done so far :)



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



Current projects: Sonic CD (Sega CD), Mega Man V (GB), Mega Man Zero (GBA), Battletoads (NES)


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on April 03, 2008, 05:12:38 AM
Basically, I already tried it, and it's really hard. The problem is that you can disable the mechanism that enables this stuff - line interrupts and HDMAs - but that also tends to disable a bunch of other stuff, like palette and tile loading.



Raster effects are pretty much entirely based on that. Highlight/shadow disabling might be more achievable, but I'm not sure how useful it would be - since the result would be that you'd be screenshotting things not as they appear in-game.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on April 03, 2008, 05:18:57 AM
I pretty much figured as such, but I had to try :D



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



Current projects: Sonic CD (Sega CD), Mega Man V (GB), Mega Man Zero (GBA), Battletoads (NES)


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: DarkWolf on October 23, 2008, 04:29:27 PM
What's the deal with frameskip?  I never used this mod for sprite ripping before so I didn't notice until now.  If frameskip is set to anything other than Auto, the emulation is way too fast, but if it is set to Auto, frames get skipped when doing the frame increment.  I'm switching back and forth right now, but it's kind of a pain.  Can it be fixed easily?


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on October 24, 2008, 02:09:36 AM
No idea.



I noticed I never released my code (naughty naughty, GPL). So here it is:



http://www.smspower.org/maxim/forumstuff/gens_kmod_maxim_src_20081024.zip



You might want to take it as a starting point if you want to make changes, we could have a "Gens VGMaps edition" or something.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Special T on January 22, 2009, 09:41:34 PM
Is there a way to edit the Gens.cfg file to make it automatically open at 4 times the normal size with 25% Scanlines enabled? I could always do it manually by stretching the screen but it always defaults back to the original once size after I close the program.



I have opened the .cfg file but I'm not sure what to change.



Last question, why can't I take screen shots when I stretch the screen, they come out as broken images?


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on January 23, 2009, 03:21:01 AM
1. The code doesn't save or load the renderer from the config file. It ought to be possible to add it. Having said that, there's no 4x option anyway, only 2x.

2. Dunno. It might be an unhandled case in the screenshot code.


Title: RE: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Special T on January 27, 2009, 01:12:11 AM
Thank you for the response, I solved the screen shot issues by using the saveclipboardimages program I found here. Thanks again.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: feos on March 26, 2011, 02:09:56 PM
Men, I absolutely couldn't get, HOW to handle with layers in that mode?
Neither Graphics menu, nor Readme show that option.
Please, help!


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on March 26, 2011, 05:12:15 PM
CPU -> Debug -> Layers


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on March 26, 2011, 05:34:56 PM
Since we're speaking about Gens, does anyone know which version of that emulator is the most accurate? I remember reading that Gens+ or Gens Recording of something like that started supporting savestates for Sega CD games, but that was months ago and I don't remember which one it was.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: feos on March 27, 2011, 12:01:58 AM
Is it possible to recompile the current version (http://code.google.com/p/gens-rerecording/downloads/detail?name=Gens_Rerecording_11_Src_Win32.7z&can=2&q=) of Gens rerecording 11 - which allows working with layers & a huge number of other stuff, handy for taking snaps & videos - to allow it switch the Color key as well?

See this post (http://www.vgmaps.com/forums/index.php?topic=1368.msg13795#msg13795), why I need that.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on March 27, 2011, 01:32:28 AM
I suggest you ask the gens-rerecording people to add the feature, and point them at this thread for the code changes. I don't have the time :(


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: feos on March 27, 2011, 02:04:54 AM
I suggest you ask the gens-rerecording people to add the feature, and point them at this thread for the code changes. I don't have the time :(

Thanks for reply, I've already created there a topic on that.
http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10949

The only question now - is it possible with simple recompiling of 2 sources, or the coding itself required?


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on March 27, 2011, 07:05:00 AM
That was to be my next question as well. Having every available function consolidated in a single emulator would be best, but at any rate Maxim, your modification for KMod was a godsend when you made it.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: Maxim on March 28, 2011, 04:16:46 AM
It's not that simple. My mod is based on Gens KMod which is based on Gens. The re-recording Gens is based on Gens (?). So there's a fair amount of diversion there. Think of it as having a text document that two people reworked/edited. How easy is it to merge their changes into a single document? Sometimes easy, sometimes impossible.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: feos on April 03, 2011, 03:20:39 AM
Oh man!
I got help on russian forum.

Now we really can change the canvas color just by running this LUA script in Gens11b or Gens11svn296
Code:
gens.registerbefore(function(address,size)  
  local p,t=vdp.readpalette(1,1);
  local c=pal.getcolor(t[1],1);
  c.A=255;
  c.B=255;
  c.G=0;
  c.R=255;
  pal.setcolor(t[1],1,c);
  vdp.writepalette(1,t[1]);
end)
As you can see, it turns it from black to purple.
You can select any color though.

I think this brilliant fact shall be spreaded around VGMaps community.
that's my post on TASVideos:
http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=267800#267800 (http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=267800#267800)


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: feos on September 28, 2013, 11:59:20 AM
Finally managed to add pink backdrop to Gens-rr internally. What were the other needs for gens mapping?

http://www.vgmaps.com/forums/index.php?topic=1796.msg17295#msg17295

http://gens-rerecording.googlecode.com/files/Gens11svn.zip

Added saving screenshot to clipboard (yay!)
Added ability to remove HUD/messages from screenshots (4 years later):
 determined by Tools -> AVI -> Clean AVI screen.
 Blue Pause effect off by default.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: BumFengShui on November 04, 2013, 09:53:03 PM
Really the only thing I can think of that's missing is a map viewer, e.g. Visual Boy Advance [Tools - Debug - Map Viewer...]


Feedback, a few minor notes. ~ Gens11svn341 ~
- With compressed screenshots you have to open a blank canvas to copy/paste them into. You will lose all colors from secondary screenshots that are not in the original image if you don't.
- Cannot load WWF Raw 32x. (Sits on a blank screen.) [I have the bios required.]
- When I load a save state in Genesis Savestate Viewer the map graphics change to random colors & the sprites black out.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: feos on November 08, 2013, 03:27:44 PM
Map Viewer - in TODOs.
For pasting screenshots, specify the RGB mode in your editor.
WWF doesn't seem to run in other Gens' either.
Savestates for Gens-rr are different than the ones the Savestate tool was designed for.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: TerraEsperZ on September 03, 2014, 09:37:40 PM
I know this thread if way old but I finally moved to Gens11svn341 so I thought I should say something. Thanks for adding the pink background by the way, it's really helpful.

One feature that's missing and already requested on the Project page for the emulator is the ability to change values in memory. You have this great RAM search window but the button to create a code from an address is not active. I can manage thanks to Lua scripting and/or Cheat Engine, but it's really a weird omission.

I also noticed the screwed graphics in Genesis Savestate Viewer, but I guess we'd need to ask the author of that utility instead.


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: feos on September 06, 2014, 05:01:51 AM
You can patch RAM using Game Genie, here's the build where that dialog doesn't freeze the emulator, so that you can keep it open all the time:
http://tinyurl.com/med9p9e

Savestate Viewer is for Gens, the rerecording branch has quite some stuff added to savestates, so they won't work perfectly there.

EDIT:

Is elektropage.ru banned or something?


Title: Re: Gens KMod modifications for mapping
Post by: feos on November 06, 2014, 02:03:40 PM
Bump. Gens with Hex Editor (for a whole bunch of memory regions)! Copy-paste included.
http://feos-tas.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/Misc/gens-mod.7z