VGMaps

General Boards => Maps In Progress => Topic started by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 18, 2008, 11:36:12 AM



Title: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 18, 2008, 11:36:12 AM
I've only done the 4th level "Go Down To The Cellar", and only the first 3 rooms, of it.



All the coins and blocks are present, however, there are about 3 or 4 very small places where it's about 1 pixel out of line ... also, obviously, I need to add the sprites and stuff.



Here's what I've done so far:



http://h1.ripway.com/ukmidis/WarioLand21-4(GoDowntotheCellar)Map(WIP).jpg


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Will on June 18, 2008, 12:40:21 PM
Its a nice start. To me its a lot better than my Montezuma's Revenge maps. Mapping the entire game looks extremely easy. Miyu from Megaman Battle NT Warrior foresees that you will successfully finish the mapping the game in the next two and a half weeks. Heh! Heh! I've heard Wario turns into different forms in the game not unlike the multiple forms of the Falcon Agents in the Metal Slug Series.



If you want to know there are 11 stages each with 5 levels (except stage 11 which a super boss stage). Don't worry about the sprites. Normally when I make maps on old systems like NES and GB, I simply map out everything instead of first the layout then the sprites, then I rub out the unnecessary bits like menus, the location of the player and so on. I and Miyu are sure you'll accomplish.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 18, 2008, 01:02:22 PM
You mean 10 stages, or "Chapters" each with 5 "Stories", and an 11th "Final Chapter" which only consists of a single story.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: RT 55J on June 18, 2008, 01:05:22 PM
That's actually a pretty good job. Keep up the good work. :)



However, you should never ever ever ever ever save a screenshot map as a jpeg. The loss in picture quality is too great. I know it will take you some time to fix it, but I highly suggest that you redo the map and save it as a png. The increase in picture quality will be worth it.

---

"its a good day to do what has to be done by me and help my brother to defeat the enemys" - John Freeman


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 18, 2008, 02:32:58 PM
I didn't intend on saving it as a JPEG, I just went File -> Save without actually looking <_< :( so that means I have to completely start over? I'm kind of thinking **** this, now.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: RT 55J on June 18, 2008, 03:21:53 PM
Yesterday I attempted to assemble the map, but decided to quit from boredom before I finished the second room. You can use what I did:



<img>http://img356.imageshack.us/img356/4176/0to19pr4.png</img>

---

"its a good day to do what has to be done by me and help my brother to defeat the enemys" - John Freeman


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 18, 2008, 04:50:03 PM
OK :D Luckily the unassembled parts are PNGs :D, as you obviously know. I was thinking, what would be the best way to arrange the rooms? As you saw, I just arranged them from left to right, but you've put the first room above the second room. How/where would be a good place to put the 3rd, 4th and 5th rooms? And since the 5th room is a very small room consisting of nothing more than a few small ledges and 6 "10x" coins, I was thinking to simply put the room so that the doors from and too the 4th and 5th rooms are directly above and below each other, as most maps are made, but what about the 2 other main rooms?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: RT 55J on June 18, 2008, 05:41:51 PM
Frustration also played a part in me stopping. I couldn't figure out where screenshot 14 was supposed to go. That and I felt like you should do it. :P



As far as arranging rooms goes, I'd recommend doing whatever feel will make the map easiest to follow. It's your call.

---

"its a good day to do what has to be done by me and help my brother to defeat the enemys" - John Freeman


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Will on June 18, 2008, 09:49:15 PM
I cannot believe that that game is a Gameboy game. Its seems very colourful to on GB and not GBC don't you think? While you assemble all rooms together to form a map the whole stage, its a good idea to plan how you want to assemble them before you do it straight after doing the rooms. You'd best begin by mapping all the rooms with their sprites and objects.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 19, 2008, 03:49:41 AM
RT 55J, screenshot 14 was actually near the end of the FOURTH room, as I accidentally typed 'map014' instead of whatever it was meant to be... something like 'map041' most likely



and Will? I don't get what you mean "Its seems very colourful to on GB and not GBC don't you think?"



This IS a Game Boy Color game, not a Game Boy game... unless you knew that and you're just trying to say that I put (GB) instead of (GBC), and was just being smart? <_<


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Will on June 19, 2008, 05:33:37 AM
Oh sorry Ultimate Koopa I didn't realise you made a mistake, because My "World Heroes" Gameboy maps have got only white and a different colour, some stages blue, green, purple, red or orange and it is rare after all for Gameboy to have a single colour other than black.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 19, 2008, 06:18:54 AM
What mistake were you referring to? The mistake of accidentally overwriting an image? Or the mistake of accidentally putting (GB) instead of (GBC)?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 19, 2008, 06:23:16 AM
Will Said:
I cannot believe that that game is a Gameboy game. Its seems very colourful to on GB and not GBC don't you think? While you assemble all rooms together to form a map the whole stage, its a good idea to plan how you want to assemble them before you do it straight after doing the rooms. You'd best begin by mapping all the rooms with their sprites and objects.

So basically, I should assemble each room seperately, and then assemble the rooms all at once?

So far, there's



1

2



... should I do it like say...



1

23

 4

 5?



or

13

24

 5?



Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 19, 2008, 09:53:03 AM
Well I think I done a pretty good job.

http://h1.ripway.com/ukmidis/WL2_1-4_map.png



also, what user level do you have to be to be able to actually display images directly in posts?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Maxim on June 19, 2008, 10:57:51 AM
I just sent you enough gold to buy the two items.



Syntax is:



[link]http://blah[/link] - plain link

[link]http://blah(link text)[/link] - link with chosen text

[pic]http://blah[/pic] - picture

[link]http://blah([pic]http://blah[/pic])[/link] - thumbnail picture link



BUT:



change [ to < and change ] to >. And don't try to edit any posts with more than one link in them!


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Eggz on June 19, 2008, 12:54:13 PM
When it comes down to laying out the different rooms in each level, it all comes down to common sense. What is the easiest way to lay them out so that the path is the most obvious. So it's really up to you.



And I know people have mentioned this to you before, but instead of spamming the board with multiple posts, just use the Edit feature to add to a previous post, otherwise the post count just gets ridiculous and too much scrolling, and makes it annoying to read.

---

This looks like a job for Science!


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 20, 2008, 06:40:42 AM
I just collected the screenshots for Level 6 (Return the Hen to her nest), so I'll have a go at that.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 20, 2008, 01:13:10 PM
But no FUCKING way am I even trying that.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: TerraEsperZ on June 20, 2008, 06:34:10 PM
Well, you're not going to improve your skills if you're not even going to try. And Wario Land 2 is a really easy game to map compared to some on more modern system. If you're interested in mapping other games in the future, it would help to start small.



---

Current projects: Ristar-The Shooting Star (Gen), Sonic The Hedgehog (Gen), Sonic CD (Sega CD), Mega Man Zero (GBA), Battletoads (NES), Bucky O'Hare (NES)


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 21, 2008, 03:55:24 AM
Would it be OK if most of the top of the background is missing?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Will on June 21, 2008, 07:02:25 AM
If you want to give your maps a fine touch, do add the top background, but if you can't fill it in entirely it is best to leave out of the top background and focus on the room layout. Also on the other hand the top background would increase map size and file size, but those are minor concerns compared to what good the background does. You may not be able to explore the background, but if you take a look at my ZX Spectrum Prince of Persia maps you will see that I have placed walls where there are no rooms to make the level look neater, even Terra does the same. The choice is yours, whether you think the background is necessary or not.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 21, 2008, 12:26:46 PM
It's not necessary really, I mean you're not gonna actually use the background in the game... it just looks odd... but I'll just do the main level layout.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 21, 2008, 03:23:21 PM
Because I'm too lazy to make a thread... can I ask a favor... or favour... <_< if I post all the unassembled tiles of 'Deck Trek' from Donkey Kong Land, would anyone be able to reassemble them? I tried but it's almost impossible. For starters, there's 68 files, it's all negative for some reason, so you'll need to "Ctrl+I" in paint, to in-invert the image when ... or if you finish. And also, it's just all ... over the place. Not only do you have like the top half below the bottom half, and the left side next to the right side, so you have to move it over, you get some parts of the level ONTOP of other parts.



Just incase

http://h1.ripway.com/ukmidis/DeckTrek.zip


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Revned on June 21, 2008, 04:50:15 PM
The Ultimate Koopa Said:
Oh and I didn't edit the above post because if I just edit my posts, and, say it's like 2-3 weeks old, it'll still look like its however old it is, and people will probably ignore it.


Yes, but your previous post was only 3 hours old.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 21, 2008, 05:11:24 PM
Is it possible to reply to the main point, and not just pick out that?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Eggz on June 21, 2008, 06:05:04 PM
Now what I can't seem to understand is that you say you want to map this game, yet all you do is take the screens and piece of the levels and ask others to do the hard part for you. Mapping is doing both parts to the best of your ability, and that ability will only get better with practice.



So really, make up your mind. If you're going to map, great, but then try putting stuff together and submitting it for critique instead of constantly asking for tips if all you're going to do is pass it on to others.

---

This looks like a job for Science!


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Revned on June 21, 2008, 08:34:25 PM
The Ultimate Koopa Said:
Is it possible to reply to the main point, and not just pick out that?


Sorry if I sounded rude. I'm not even sure what you uploaded. I looked at the images in the zip, and it would be easier for someone just to start over. Where did you get those "tiles"?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Will on June 22, 2008, 03:19:46 AM
It is impossible to use those images. They are definitely from a Gameboy game. I thought you were working the Gameboy Colour version of Wario Land 2. With such mix up and scatter the images are useless and no good for assembly. Why did you not map out the rooms from the top left corner to the bottom right corner? Would you specify precisely what the problem is with mapping a somewhat straightforward game?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 22, 2008, 05:59:48 AM
Those tiles are from the 4th level of Donkey Kong Land (Deck Trek), as I said

"Because I'm too lazy to make a thread..."


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: TerraEsperZ on June 22, 2008, 08:50:41 AM
The thing is, you normally start by mapping as much as you can by playing the game itself, and *then* you use the map browser to complete what you can't grab otherwise. Those images are completely unusable because they don't look like anything and there's no way to figure out how they go together.



---

Current projects: Ristar-The Shooting Star (Gen), Sonic The Hedgehog (Gen), Sonic CD (Sega CD), Mega Man Zero (GBA), Battletoads (NES), Bucky O'Hare (NES)


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 22, 2008, 10:26:54 AM
They are negative (inverted) and you can see a few of them fitting together. Wario Land 2 is easier, since it doesn't have the same vertical scrolling as most games. It shifts one screen at a time.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Revned on June 22, 2008, 01:05:04 PM
One could possibly fit a couple of them together, but like we've mentioned, it would be a lot easier to start over completely. A folder full of unmarked, inverted screens is useless without reference. When I map, I do it as I'm playing through the level, not afterwards. This way I can see exactly where things fit together and can take extra screenshots if necessary. And, like Terra mentioned, you'd probably be better off mapping from the emulator, not from the map viewer. Either find a way to disable sprites or manually remove them, don't just fall back on the viewer.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 22, 2008, 03:12:08 PM
I simply played through the level and every few steps, I'd go to "Tools > Map Viewer > Save" <_< But it'll be easier, as you say, to just take actual screenshots, right?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 25, 2008, 04:08:45 AM
<_< >_> Do I have to still e-mail the finished map of 1-4 to Jon before it's uploaded, or has he already got the map ready for the next update(s)?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Maxim on June 25, 2008, 04:55:27 AM
It helps to email. Jon can't be watching every thread to see what maps are final.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on June 25, 2008, 01:57:25 PM
Before I e-mail, should I add some kind of indication of where the level starts?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Will on June 25, 2008, 08:58:03 PM
You can add an indication of where the level starts if you want to, simply by putting the player (Wario in this case) on the starting point. You can easily capture a screenshot of his starting position. In many games I don't see why I have to add the player at the starting point. I only do it in the Prince of Persia games to preserve its style. Pick your choice and I'm sure either way your maps will turn out well and look good when put up.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on February 04, 2009, 10:00:21 AM
God damn it, it turns out I've only missed one room.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on February 05, 2009, 11:46:42 AM
This place is dead. First post on VGMaps.com's entire forums in nearly 25 hours? ZOMG!


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: TerraEsperZ on February 05, 2009, 04:44:24 PM
Well, people have lives you know. There used to be time when the forum would be dead all weekend when I was home alone, and full of activities on those few weekends where I was away and busy. It was frustrating like hell.



As for your last few posts, which room did you miss?



---

Current projects: Bucky O'Hare (NES), Metal Storm (NES), Clock Tower (SNES), Ristar-The Shooting Star (Gen), Sonic The Hedgehog (Gen), Sonic CD (Sega CD), Mega Man Zero (GBA), Battletoads (NES)


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on February 05, 2009, 05:30:13 PM
Well you know that small room with door "D"? which comes from the 'hidden' door in the last big room with the goal? At the bottom, see those coins with a 'gap' and a white letter D? Well further left, there's another gap, with another door (which I should label "E"). The room inside is directly the opposite of "D", in the sense that everything is swapped from left to right, i.e. the 6 coins are now on the right, and the door is on the left. This is why I sometimes think we need some king of thing so we can see all the rooms in the game, like an editor, because there's bound to be parts we've missed. For example in the 1st stage, Captain Drake missed a small part of the level in the 2nd room with doors "A" "B" and "D" and the mouse at the beginning, at both ends where the coins are outside of the 'room', there's a part that you can pound and access more coins below. The part you pound is one 'block' from the edge (the far edge that is), and you come up via small platforms which you then need to break through the floor nearer the 'opening'. Another example is in the 3rd level. In the 3rd room, entered via room "B", with the 6 big coins above the ceiling, there's a part where you need to duck-jump to fit through a small gap, to the right. I think those are the only parts I can see that are missing.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Peardian on February 05, 2009, 11:22:41 PM
Agreed. The Wario Land games have lots of juicy secrets that make mapping it exciting. There are several secrets in the WL4 levels I've mapped so far that I would have never found if it weren't for being able to disable layers. I don't think you have the luxury of that with the first three games, though.

---

YTT (34%) - WL4 (64%) - PM (36%) - YI (11%) - SMRPG (0%)


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Maxim on February 06, 2009, 02:35:25 AM
Games with a lot of secrets basically require either an official guide (which would be based on information from the developers and likely to be complete), a reverse-engineering of the level format, or a hack (like showing things when disabling layers) to make things easier. I ripped a few maps of James Pond II before discovering that it has an insane number of secrets and not even any decent FAQs to work from. Reverse-engineering a level format can be a huge amount of work, although if it's held uncompressed and complete in memory you might get lucky.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on February 06, 2009, 06:52:46 AM
THere is a stage select cheat, however it only allows full stages. E.g. '00' is for the whole of Level 1 (Turn off the Alarm Clock), '18' is for the 25th level (The Final Battle), etc. The highest value is 32 for 51.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Maxim on February 06, 2009, 10:18:47 AM
Because it's hex. I hope you know about level 0a, for example.



There may be a second byte for the "room".


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on February 06, 2009, 11:59:51 AM
I know it's hex. I was just saying that the 51 levels go from 00-32. I know why it's 32 because 32 is the "33rd" value. or 3x16 + 3x1 (48+3 = 51).


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on February 08, 2009, 02:32:17 PM
Is there any one here with enough experience, unlike me, to be able to possibly make some GameShark code or something, that enables you to shift the screen/camera, to a certain fixed position depending on 2 seperate variables for vertical and horizontal shifting? Maybe 2 seperate codes for vertical and horizontal, or 1 for both, whatever?


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Maxim on February 09, 2009, 02:27:19 AM
Could be. Try a Raw Candy exploration of RAM.


Title: RE: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on February 09, 2009, 06:03:54 AM
I don't have any experience whatsoever with RAM editing *sigh*. The most I know is that RAM stands for Random Access Memory, that's more or less it. And also, as the first paragraph said, are there any experienced-enough people here that would be able to make a GS code that enables some movement of the camera to any position?


Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: alucard on November 02, 2010, 01:01:28 PM
Whatever happened with this game? It looks like the maps were never finished.


Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on December 02, 2010, 10:57:23 AM
Such a shame, as this was a pretty fun game, and the maps should be somewhat interesting.


Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: alucard on December 02, 2010, 02:06:32 PM
Such a shame, as this was a pretty fun game, and the maps should be somewhat interesting.

So you still are unable to finish them? You still need cheat codes?


Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on December 11, 2010, 10:13:59 AM
If there's a simple cheat code to either free-fly around the stage (like the debug modes in the original Sonic games), or at least one to change the location of the "camera", that'd be good. I think the latter one would be better, if it's possible since I could have the screen at the very top left corner, take a screenshot, then move the screen not quite a screen to the right, to leave a small bit overlapping, so that it's easier to stitch, and keep going to the very right of that particular stage, and then continue, but roughly one screen below, etc (which is pretty obvious). Although the "free-fly" type code would be just as useful, I think.

The "You still need cheat codes" in your post, seems to imply that you have something of interest <_<, well it'd be a bit odd if someone was to say something like "You still need cheat codes"? "Yes", "Well I haven't got any" :P


Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: The Ultimate Koopa on December 13, 2010, 04:43:54 PM
Are there actually any new codes for this game at all? I'm sure the ones on GSCentral for any device, Action Replay, X-Ploder, etc, are the same as they were about 8 years ago. I'm sure by now, there's bound to be some code that will have something to do with the camera position, or maybe a sort of large code which enables you to simply move Wario anywhere on the screen, even through walls, in any direction (exactly like in the old Sonic debug modes)?


Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Maxim on December 14, 2010, 09:01:23 AM
Cheat codes aren't that hard to create if you are familiar with the console and its tools. Hacking in free movement is harder, I've done it (for Sega 8-bit games) a few times, but it usually ends up being a sizeable chunk of code.


Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: TerraEsperZ on December 28, 2010, 03:07:12 PM
Maxim's right. With NES and Game Boy game where memory is limited, stuff like the player's coordinates are almost always in the same spot so they're usually easy to locate and manipulate. For example, just start a memory search, then move Wario horizontally to the right by a small amount then search for an increased value. Sometimes you can turn this into a code right away with the value of your choice and sometimes you'll have to note the address and make a code yourself. And even if you can do this, sometimes simply changing your coordinate will move your character where you want him to go but the graphics won't update to reflect your new surroundings.

In short, you can encounter many challenges and although it's not as easy as using a no-clipping code, it can still help you reach and map otherwise unreachable areas. Hopefully you'll give it a try.


Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Wanopio on December 08, 2014, 03:43:19 AM
I have uploaded the rest of the maps for the regular chapters (SS Tea Cup, Maze Woods, In Town, Syrup Castle) of Wario Land II. As you all said, it houses so many secrets in this game.

Maps for additional chapters are in progress :-\



Title: Re: Wario Land 2 (GB)
Post by: Raccoon Sam on December 30, 2014, 02:13:09 AM
A very promising Wario Land II level editor (http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/1098/) was released just recently. For screenshots and more information, see the original forum post (http://www.romhacking.net/forum/index.php/topic,19032.0.html).
Maybe that helps?