VGMaps
November 18, 2017, 08:16:09 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Screenshot Autostitcher  (Read 43937 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2007, 03:04:30 PM »

I don't really understand any of that... <_<... but I can show you two maps that I (tried) to make from MM2, those being "Whine On!" and "Rim Runners"... <_<
Logged
Maxim
Guest
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2007, 10:19:37 PM »

Looks interesting, I'll have a try. Thank you very much!
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #17 on: June 23, 2007, 03:39:15 PM »

Well, I don;t see any pictrures yet... I had a go with Whine On, here's what I got on the first attempt:



http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/692/micromachinesiiwhineonav5.png



It just needs some trips to the of-track parts to clean it up, which could be done by traditional mapping methods.
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #18 on: July 01, 2007, 08:43:58 AM »

Here's version 0.3 with a whole bunch of more stuff, most notably image masking.



http://www.smspower.org/maxim/forumstuff/Screenshot%20Autostitcher%200.3.zip
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #19 on: July 01, 2007, 08:54:42 AM »

Tutorial time!



1. Get Gens KMod



http://www.spritesmind.net/_GenDev/index.php?page=gensK



(You can use other emulators so long as they have the right kind of features.)



2. Load a ROM



3. Get to an in-game moment where you want to start mapping



4. Set it to Frame Skip 0 (ie. render 100% of frames even if it slows down) and then choose "Screen Shot each frame". It'll start hammering your hard disk as it writes 60 images per second.



5. Now move around in-game so everything becomes visible. Here's a video of me mapping a Micro Machines 2 level:



http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-1930249089414408138



I died a few times but it's not the end of the world, so long as the screen moves smoothly throughout.



6. This game has a few on-screen status images (clock, lap count, etc). I made this mask image which is black wherever I want to get rid of them (I also want to get rid of the player's car sprite):



User posted image



7. Load these all up into Screenshot Autostitcher and stitch with the settings set to search 16 pixels, match 50%/95%, scrolling both ways, decimate 1, not reverse order. You get this:



User posted image

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/5589/stitchedab0.png



As you can see, it's just a few more screenshots away from being complete.
Logged
Special T
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2008, 04:27:22 AM »

Do you know of any emulator for the Sega Master System that allows you to take screen shots of every frame? I was going to use your program for Phantasy Star. Thanks!
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #21 on: January 23, 2008, 06:25:07 AM »

I already mapped Palma:



User posted image



and there are full maps (worlds and towns, as well as non-screenshot dungeon maps) at Phantasy Star Cave anyway.



I have a custom-modified version of Meka for mapping that gives me screenshots of every frame. I'll try to finish it off and get it included in the next release.
Logged
Special T
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #22 on: January 23, 2008, 10:15:26 AM »

Thanks, releasing the modified version of Meka would help me out a lot. I tried the phantasy star cave but the maps weren't high resolution and the planet maps were pretty small too. Your map of Palma looks great though. Thanks for all your hard work!!!



I look forward to your next release.
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #23 on: January 23, 2008, 11:26:18 AM »

Huh? Their maps are all full-resolution, eg.



http://www.pscave.com/ps1/dezoris.shtml

click on "the larger version of the map" to see http://www.pscave.com/ps1/images/dezoris2.gif. (514KB GIF pngouts to 75KB. Yay for pngout.)



Meka is not my project, I can't control when it releases. I do know the author and I know he's the lead developer on a very cool new DS game that's nearing completion and as such, he hasn't got much time for working on it. I'll post a bare .exe that will need to go with a normal Meka's support files.
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #24 on: January 23, 2008, 12:34:45 PM »

http://www.smspower.org/maxim/forumstuff/mekaw-capturemods-20080723.zip



There you go.
Logged
Special T
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #25 on: January 23, 2008, 05:53:55 PM »

Thanks for posting the modded version of Meka so quickly, but when I double click on the exe file it says I have to install audiow32.dll so I downloaded audiow32.dll and put it in my Window's System directory.



Now when I click on the exe file nothing happens.



As far the maps of phantasy star at Phantasy Star Cave thanks for pointing that out I downloaded them as soon as I found out, I was looking at Phantasy Star II & IV and when you click the link for the large image of the plant maps it leads to a broken link.
Logged
Special T
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #26 on: January 23, 2008, 08:41:46 PM »

WEll I downloaded the current version of Meka and just replaced the exe files and that seemed to solve the above problem but now I'm getting this message upon start up



MEKA 0.72

(c) 1998-2007 Omar Cornut (Bock) and contributors

--

Loading MEKA.MSG (messages)..

On line 591: Unknown message "Msg_Options_Capture_Automatic_Crop_Align= "Automatically crop and align screen captures."", skipping it.

Language "English" is incomplete (367/368 messages found) !

The following messages are missing:

  MSG_Options_Capture_Crop_Align

This is the default language, so we need to abort.
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #27 on: January 24, 2008, 03:07:58 AM »

That's because I built against a recent SVN source tree with a slightly changed language file. Download http://svn.smspower.org/svn/meka/trunk/meka/meka.msg and it will hopefully be better.
Logged
Special T
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #28 on: January 24, 2008, 06:44:14 AM »

Wow thanks, it works perfect now!



I just wanted to test it out so I entered the first town in phantasy star and took 3,802 picutres I used your program and this is what it came out with.



<a href="http://s41.photobucket.com/albums/e295/Specialt1212/?action=view&current=PS1.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e295/Specialt1212/PS1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">[/url]



I would still need to fix the edges but that other than that your program is awesome!



What emulators do you use for the other systems to take a screen capture per frame?

NES, SNES, GB, TG16
Logged
RT 55J
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 439


« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2008, 06:50:48 AM »

PROTIP: Don't save maps as JPEG files.

---

Dot? Dot. Dot!
Logged


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!