VGMaps
November 20, 2017, 06:40:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Crude ASCII Maps  (Read 3136 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« on: August 02, 2007, 07:41:29 AM »

http://www.monmouth.com/~colonel/videogames/



(The forum categories don't really have an ideal place for a "talking about mapping" thread, or a "link to other map sites" thread. I suppose here's close enough.)



A lot of them aren't really ASCII, but it's fun looking through.
Logged
TerraEsperZ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2225



« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2007, 09:10:07 AM »

Damn it, now I wish I still had those old ASCII maps Smiley I had done all of the first Lands Of Lore game, as well as the first Alone In The Dark. Oh, and a few maps from Wolfenstein 3D and its sequel, Spear Of Destiny Sad



To tell you how old they were, I had saved them on a 5 1/4" floppy...



---

"With the first link, the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied, chains us all irrevocably." [...] The first time any man's freedom is trodden on, we're all damaged. - Captain Jean-Luc Picard



B*tch, meet reality. Reality, meet b*tch. - Me
Logged

Current project that I really should try to finish:
-Drill Dozer (GBA)
-Sonic 3D Blast (Genesis)
-Naya's Quest (PC)
-Lilly Looking Through (PC)

Pending project:
-A ton of stuff that will never be finished
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2007, 09:53:16 AM »

How about a mod for the tile splicer that lets you define ASCII chars for each tile? You could define 2x2, 3x3, etc blocks for each tile to get more detail. Either that, or just run them through one of those ASCII renderers.
Logged
DarkWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 621



« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2007, 05:49:43 PM »

I played a MUD once that had an ASCII map.  I took screenshots of the terminal window and pasted them together.  That's the closest I've gotten to making an ASCII map.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!