VGMaps
October 15, 2018, 08:16:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?  (Read 4458 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
JonLeung
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3168


« on: December 11, 2008, 05:21:28 PM »

Now I know about going into the Display Properties > Settings > Advanced > Troubleshoot and sliding the Hardware Accleration down to None, which usually works, but now I'm trying to capture images from a DVD and it doesn't work because as soon as I decelerate it I lose the image in Windows Media Player.



Any ideas?
Logged
Peardian
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 627


Busy busy


« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2008, 05:24:18 PM »

I had to go out and find a DVD player that supported screen capturing features. It worked great, but was a demo and you could only really use it for one sitting before having to go and completely uninstall it and stuff. I don't remember the name either, sorry. Sad



If I find a way, I'll let you know.

---

YTT (32%) - WL4 (60%) - PM (25%)
Logged

MM (10%) - SMA3 (33%) - DNS (0%)

Come check out the Nintendo 64 Mapping Workshop!
Piranhaplant
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 60


« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2008, 05:48:46 PM »

If you have windows movie maker, which comes with a lot of computers, you can screen capture from there.

---

Games I have mapped--Zombies Ate My Neighbors (SNES), Mario Party 3 (N64), Super Mario Bros Deluxe (GBC), New Super Mario Bros. (DS), Mario Kart DS (DS)
Logged

Games I have mapped--Zombies Ate My Neighbors (SNES), Mario Party 3 (N64), Super Mario Bros Deluxe (GBC), New Super Mario Bros. (DS), Mario Kart DS (DS)
Revned
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1092



« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2008, 06:54:34 PM »

I believe what you're seeing is a form of copy protection. It doesn't let me take screenshots at all when my DVD player application is running. I used to have a 3rd party program that re-enabled it, though.
Logged

dammit9x
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2008, 07:41:04 PM »

Works fine with Media Player Classic, as long as you use something besides Overlay Mixer for DirectShow Video.



http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Media_Player_Classic.htm



Doesn't answer your question but it's a solution.
Logged
JonLeung
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3168


« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2008, 08:26:35 PM »

Never mind, I found that using VideoLAN/VLC Player works.  It has a screenshot option, no need to mess with stupid hardware acceleration/deceleration or overlays.
Logged
Ryan Ferneau
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 68


« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2008, 08:33:37 PM »

I know there's a button to take a still from a video in Windows Movie Maker, at least in the XP version.
Logged
DarkWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 621



« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2008, 07:55:25 PM »

I was going to mention VLC, but you've already found it.  I use it as my main media player.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
VGMaps.com: The Video Game Atlas

 

Pixel WarehouseVGMuseum.com

Your ad could be here - contact me for advertising inquiries.

VGMaps.com is registered with and hosted by

Go Daddy.

Supported by you.

� 2002-2018 Jonathan Leung.

VGMaps.com is an archive of video game maps up since May 6, 2002. Optimized for at least 800 x 600 resolution.

This site does not contain commercial ROMs or any other illegal materials. All directly "ripped" game images are the property of their respective copyright holders.

This web site and compass logo are copyrighted by Jonathan Leung 2002-2018.