VGMaps

Main Boards => VGMaps Social Board => Topic started by: JonLeung on December 11, 2008, 05:21:28 PM

Title: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?
Post by: JonLeung on December 11, 2008, 05:21:28 PM
Now I know about going into the Display Properties > Settings > Advanced > Troubleshoot and sliding the Hardware Accleration down to None, which usually works, but now I'm trying to capture images from a DVD and it doesn't work because as soon as I decelerate it I lose the image in Windows Media Player.



Any ideas?
Title: RE: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?
Post by: Peardian on December 11, 2008, 05:24:18 PM
I had to go out and find a DVD player that supported screen capturing features. It worked great, but was a demo and you could only really use it for one sitting before having to go and completely uninstall it and stuff. I don't remember the name either, sorry. :(



If I find a way, I'll let you know.

---

YTT (32%) - WL4 (60%) - PM (25%)
Title: RE: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?
Post by: Piranhaplant on December 11, 2008, 05:48:46 PM
If you have windows movie maker, which comes with a lot of computers, you can screen capture from there.

---

Games I have mapped--Zombies Ate My Neighbors (SNES), Mario Party 3 (N64), Super Mario Bros Deluxe (GBC), New Super Mario Bros. (DS), Mario Kart DS (DS)
Title: RE: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?
Post by: Revned on December 11, 2008, 06:54:34 PM
I believe what you're seeing is a form of copy protection. It doesn't let me take screenshots at all when my DVD player application is running. I used to have a 3rd party program that re-enabled it, though.
Title: RE: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?
Post by: dammit9x on December 11, 2008, 07:41:04 PM
Works fine with Media Player Classic, as long as you use something besides Overlay Mixer for DirectShow Video.



http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Media_Player_Classic.htm



Doesn't answer your question but it's a solution.
Title: RE: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?
Post by: JonLeung on December 11, 2008, 08:26:35 PM
Never mind, I found that using VideoLAN/VLC Player works.  It has a screenshot option, no need to mess with stupid hardware acceleration/deceleration or overlays.
Title: RE: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?
Post by: Ryan Ferneau on December 13, 2008, 08:33:37 PM
I know there's a button to take a still from a video in Windows Movie Maker, at least in the XP version.
Title: RE: How do you capture images in Windows Media Player?
Post by: DarkWolf on December 14, 2008, 07:55:25 PM
I was going to mention VLC, but you've already found it.  I use it as my main media player.