VGMaps
December 13, 2017, 05:32:23 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Font size  (Read 7583 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
JonLeung
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3133


« Reply #15 on: November 09, 2006, 12:32:52 PM »

I'm guessing you're editing the main directory page?



Let me know when you're done so I can download it off the server and add to it when I update this weekend.



I'm guessing your changes won't mess up how I view it in FrontPage, or that FrontPage won't mandatorily mess it up after I normally add new game links to it?
Logged
bustin98
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 330



« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2006, 01:02:45 PM »

I'll give you some direction, especially if I add CSS controls to it.



What version of FrontPage are you using?

---

Cool beans
Logged
bustin98
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 330



« Reply #17 on: November 12, 2006, 11:35:59 PM »

Hey guys, I have an 'optimized' version of the Index page up at http://www.vgmaps.com/Atlas/index2.htm.



Take a look and let us know what you think. The font is still small, but not as small as before. Its a simple change of a number to make it larger now.

---

Cool beans
Logged
DarkWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 621



« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2006, 02:13:56 PM »

The XHTML 1.0 DTD really isn't the proper DTD to use since the page still contains deprecated attributes and tags.  But it's a step in the right direction.
Logged
Revned
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1091



« Reply #19 on: November 13, 2006, 02:40:17 PM »

Looks good to me, and it's about 50 kb smaller to boot.
Logged

JonLeung
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3133


« Reply #20 on: November 13, 2006, 05:50:58 PM »

Well, Revned likes it!  Tongue



To me the size doesn't look much different if at all.  The removal of underlined links does look cleaner, and the code is better.  I guess I'll take it and hope FrontPage won't butcher it too much when I copy and paste things...and all the new MSX games I have to add to it will be a good test of that.



Thanks, bustin98!  I should ask you to optimize the whole site!  Smiley  Though I might one day rather have a more "dynamic" site so that might be quite the overhaul.



You know that line in the Ghostbusters theme song where they go "bustin' makes me feel good!"  Yeah, I could almost say that now, but it still sounds like something his wife would say (if she refers to him as bustin98 in real life, that is).
Logged
Revned
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1091



« Reply #21 on: November 13, 2006, 05:55:00 PM »

The index's font wasn't all that bad to begin with. It's more suited for a smaller font, anyway. I also like it better without the underlines.
Logged

bustin98
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 330



« Reply #22 on: November 13, 2006, 08:20:23 PM »

Going from well over 4,000 lines to just over 1,000, there's bound to be a couple of errors and overlooked tags. If I coded it from the ground up it would be different.



Actually, as I was going through that nightmare, I was trying to figure out the best way to setup this information in a database. Jon, if you're interested we can talk more about it. It will streamline the process of adding more information and give users more options.



And no, noone other than the online community calls me bustin98. But thanks for the image of my wife doing something silly like that.



And I never saw the underlines. I have my IE settings to underline links only on hover. Now everyone sees what I see Smiley

---

Cool beans
Logged
bustin98
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 330



« Reply #23 on: November 14, 2006, 10:28:16 AM »

I have now validated the page for XHTML Transitional, which may mean nothing to most of you. There is one tag that I'm not messing with because FrontPage is insistant that it be put in. And its perfectly legal in Transistional anyway.



Jon, I replaced the current page with the new page. If you start adding items, try it with the 'index2.htm' page first. That way if you mess up it won't be a big deal. And if you can't get it to work, let me know.

---

Cool beans
Logged
JonLeung
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3133


« Reply #24 on: November 16, 2006, 07:42:31 PM »

Oops, I tried it with the main one.  I added the MSX games (and the other new ones this past weekend)  Looks like it works.



Thanks again, bustin!
Logged
bustin98
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 330



« Reply #25 on: November 17, 2006, 11:28:00 AM »

I took a glance and it does look good. I'm pleased it turned out. Wanna contribute to my Wii fund?









(Just kidding. I absolutey expect nothing for my contributions other than the praise you heap.)

---

Cool beans
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!