VGMaps
November 23, 2017, 04:07:57 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't access any images on the site  (Read 13441 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
boyo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« on: June 12, 2008, 08:26:16 AM »

Look at this picture.

http://i27.tinypic.com/2zflu9k.gif

I'm using Firefox and it has nothing to do with my cache.

A few months ago I could see all the pictures, but now they all show up as this hotlinking picture.

I can guarantee that nothing on my computer has changed.

I can only assume the server has banned my ip address or something.
Logged
RT 55J
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 439


« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2008, 12:37:46 PM »

Are you using a proxy?

---

"its a good day to do what has to be done by me and help my brother to defeat the enemys" - John Freeman
Logged


boyo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2008, 12:47:53 PM »

No. It worked before. I haven't changed anything.
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2008, 05:06:26 AM »

What do you see here:



http://adurah.com/step2.html



If it isn't the URL of this page, you have problems.
Logged
boyo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2008, 06:37:49 AM »

It says "You came from: http://www.vgmaps.com/forums/index.php?topic=750"
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2008, 08:47:46 AM »

If you're in Firefox, enter about:config in the address bar and type "referer" in the box. It looks like you have it set to 1, but it should be 2.
Logged
boyo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2008, 09:06:35 AM »

You're right. That fixed it.

What's the difference between 1 and 2?
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2008, 11:51:04 AM »

0 = don't send a referer

2 = send it for everything

1 = don't send it for images



"nothing on my computer has changed"



Except that Smiley
Logged
boyo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2008, 11:59:39 AM »

Yeah, somehow.
Logged
tay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2008, 08:53:20 PM »

I have the same problem running on internet explorer. (version 7 i think) I'm sure that the referer is the problem but how do i fix it?



Going to the referer test page earlier in this forum says this:



You came from: Your address bar, a bookmark, or you sent no referer.

Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2008, 05:52:23 AM »

It's either something you did to IE, via an add-on, or you have a proxy between you and the internet. Some ad-blockers have this effect.



Jon really ought to change the blocker to allow through blank referers.
Logged
JonLeung
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3129


« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2008, 07:14:58 AM »

Someone on these forums suggested the code I implemented as-is to prevent hotlinking, if that's where the issue is.



I guess I'll have to go back and find where I stuck that snippet of code (I'm guessing the main root HTML file or root folder).



Would allowing blank referrers let potential bandwidth-sucking hotlinkers in, though?
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2008, 04:37:11 AM »

It'll be in .htaccess in the web root directory. Try this:



RewriteEngine On

RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(.+\.)?vgmaps\.com/ [NC]

RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^$

RewriteRule .*\.(jpe?g|gif|bmp|png)$ /images/noleech.png [L]



Allowing blank referers will allow:



- people with image referers turned off in Firefox

- people with a proxy that removes the referer (often as a "privacy" option)

- people who copy and paste a direct URL to an image into their address bar

- people who try really hard to rip you off by having their linking page have ".vgmaps.com" in the URL (eg. http://www.mysite.com/imrippingoff.vgmaps.com/somepage.html)



and will block:



- people with regular browser setups who click on a link from another website
Logged
JonLeung
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3129


« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2008, 05:52:26 PM »

Okay, it's been implemented.  It should work just as Maxim says...



Hope that fixes it!
Logged
Revned
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1091



« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2008, 07:18:45 PM »

I can finally open images in tabs now!
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!