VGMaps
November 21, 2017, 02:28:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Wario Land 2 (GB)  (Read 25481 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« on: June 18, 2008, 11:36:12 AM »

I've only done the 4th level "Go Down To The Cellar", and only the first 3 rooms, of it.



All the coins and blocks are present, however, there are about 3 or 4 very small places where it's about 1 pixel out of line ... also, obviously, I need to add the sprites and stuff.



Here's what I've done so far:



http://h1.ripway.com/ukmidis/WarioLand21-4(GoDowntotheCellar)Map(WIP).jpg
Logged
Will
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 590



« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 12:40:21 PM »

Its a nice start. To me its a lot better than my Montezuma's Revenge maps. Mapping the entire game looks extremely easy. Miyu from Megaman Battle NT Warrior foresees that you will successfully finish the mapping the game in the next two and a half weeks. Heh! Heh! I've heard Wario turns into different forms in the game not unlike the multiple forms of the Falcon Agents in the Metal Slug Series.



If you want to know there are 11 stages each with 5 levels (except stage 11 which a super boss stage). Don't worry about the sprites. Normally when I make maps on old systems like NES and GB, I simply map out everything instead of first the layout then the sprites, then I rub out the unnecessary bits like menus, the location of the player and so on. I and Miyu are sure you'll accomplish.
Logged
The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2008, 01:02:22 PM »

You mean 10 stages, or "Chapters" each with 5 "Stories", and an 11th "Final Chapter" which only consists of a single story.
Logged
RT 55J
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 439


« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2008, 01:05:22 PM »

That's actually a pretty good job. Keep up the good work. Smiley



However, you should never ever ever ever ever save a screenshot map as a jpeg. The loss in picture quality is too great. I know it will take you some time to fix it, but I highly suggest that you redo the map and save it as a png. The increase in picture quality will be worth it.

---

"its a good day to do what has to be done by me and help my brother to defeat the enemys" - John Freeman
Logged


The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2008, 02:32:58 PM »

I didn't intend on saving it as a JPEG, I just went File -> Save without actually looking <_< Sad so that means I have to completely start over? I'm kind of thinking **** this, now.
Logged
RT 55J
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 439


« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2008, 03:21:53 PM »

Yesterday I attempted to assemble the map, but decided to quit from boredom before I finished the second room. You can use what I did:



<img>http://img356.imageshack.us/img356/4176/0to19pr4.png</img>

---

"its a good day to do what has to be done by me and help my brother to defeat the enemys" - John Freeman
Logged


The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2008, 04:50:03 PM »

OK Cheesy Luckily the unassembled parts are PNGs Cheesy, as you obviously know. I was thinking, what would be the best way to arrange the rooms? As you saw, I just arranged them from left to right, but you've put the first room above the second room. How/where would be a good place to put the 3rd, 4th and 5th rooms? And since the 5th room is a very small room consisting of nothing more than a few small ledges and 6 "10x" coins, I was thinking to simply put the room so that the doors from and too the 4th and 5th rooms are directly above and below each other, as most maps are made, but what about the 2 other main rooms?
Logged
RT 55J
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 439


« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2008, 05:41:51 PM »

Frustration also played a part in me stopping. I couldn't figure out where screenshot 14 was supposed to go. That and I felt like you should do it. Tongue



As far as arranging rooms goes, I'd recommend doing whatever feel will make the map easiest to follow. It's your call.

---

"its a good day to do what has to be done by me and help my brother to defeat the enemys" - John Freeman
Logged


Will
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 590



« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2008, 09:49:15 PM »

I cannot believe that that game is a Gameboy game. Its seems very colourful to on GB and not GBC don't you think? While you assemble all rooms together to form a map the whole stage, its a good idea to plan how you want to assemble them before you do it straight after doing the rooms. You'd best begin by mapping all the rooms with their sprites and objects.
Logged
The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2008, 03:49:41 AM »

RT 55J, screenshot 14 was actually near the end of the FOURTH room, as I accidentally typed 'map014' instead of whatever it was meant to be... something like 'map041' most likely



and Will? I don't get what you mean "Its seems very colourful to on GB and not GBC don't you think?"



This IS a Game Boy Color game, not a Game Boy game... unless you knew that and you're just trying to say that I put (GB) instead of (GBC), and was just being smart? <_<
Logged
Will
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 590



« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2008, 05:33:37 AM »

Oh sorry Ultimate Koopa I didn't realise you made a mistake, because My "World Heroes" Gameboy maps have got only white and a different colour, some stages blue, green, purple, red or orange and it is rare after all for Gameboy to have a single colour other than black.
Logged
The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2008, 06:18:54 AM »

What mistake were you referring to? The mistake of accidentally overwriting an image? Or the mistake of accidentally putting (GB) instead of (GBC)?
Logged
The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2008, 06:23:16 AM »

Will Said:
I cannot believe that that game is a Gameboy game. Its seems very colourful to on GB and not GBC don't you think? While you assemble all rooms together to form a map the whole stage, its a good idea to plan how you want to assemble them before you do it straight after doing the rooms. You'd best begin by mapping all the rooms with their sprites and objects.

So basically, I should assemble each room seperately, and then assemble the rooms all at once?

So far, there's



1

2



... should I do it like say...



1

23

 4

 5?



or

13

24

 5?

Logged
The Ultimate Koopa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 509


« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2008, 09:53:03 AM »

Well I think I done a pretty good job.

http://h1.ripway.com/ukmidis/WL2_1-4_map.png



also, what user level do you have to be to be able to actually display images directly in posts?
Logged
Maxim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 972



« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2008, 10:57:51 AM »

I just sent you enough gold to buy the two items.



Syntax is:



[link]http://blah[/link] - plain link

[link]http://blah(link text)[/link] - link with chosen text

[pic]http://blah[/pic] - picture

[link]http://blah([pic]http://blah[/pic])[/link] - thumbnail picture link



BUT:



change [ to < and change ] to >. And don't try to edit any posts with more than one link in them!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!